Auba, Mane, Mahrez, Salah headline CAF award list

By George Akpayen

Photo: Getty Images
Photo: Getty Images

Africa’s football apex body, CAF, has named Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Sadio Mane, Riyad Mahrez and Mohamed Salah among 34 nominees to vie for this year’s individual men’s award on the continent.

The quartet have been shining light at their European clubs this year and in the past three years have been winners and top contenders for the African Footballer of the Year award.

Salah is the current holder of the men’s award while Mahrez and Aubameyang won the individual prize in 2016 and 2015 respectively.

Senegal star Mane has however finished in second and third places in 2017 and 2016 respectively.

This year, the four men have been central figures for clubs and countries with Mane and Salah helping Liverpool reach the UEFA Champions League final before losing to Real Madrid.

Aubameyang has been impressive form for Arsenal, scoring 27 goals in 40 appearances this Calendar year and have netted once for Gabon this year in two matches.

Algerian winger Mahrez has notched up 14 goals in 49 matches this calendar year including six goals and five assists at English Premier League champions Manchester City. He has also weighed in with two goals and three assists for Algeria this year.


The shortlist for this year’s award is however not just about the quarter of Aubameyang, Mane, Mahrez and Salah. Three Nigerians are also in the running for the prestigious individual prize.

Ahmed Musa, Alex Iwobi and Odion Ighalo are the Nigerians nominated for the CAF award. Ighalo squeeze into the 34-man shortlist after an impressive outing in the Chinese Super League with Changchun Yatai netting 28 goals in 21 appearances this year. He also scored six goals in 10 matches for Nigeria’s Super Eagles this calendar year.

Musa was Nigeria’s hero at the FIFA World Cup in Russia where he scored twice to see off Iceland while Iwobi has been a major influence at Arsenal and with the Super Eagles under Gernot Rohr this year.


Percy Tau is the only South African named among the nominees. The striker has scored 14 goals in 40 appearances this year at club level. He has also contributed three goals to South Africa’s Bafana Bafana in this calendar year.


1. Abdelmoumene Djabou (Algeria & ES Setif)
2. Ahmed Gomaa (Egypt & El Masry)
3. Ahmed Musa (Nigeria & Al-Nassr)
4. Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)
5. Andre Onana (Cameroon & Ajax)
6. Anis Badri (Tunisia & Esperance)
7. Ayoub El Kaabi (Morocco & Hebei China Fortune)
8. Ben Malango (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
9. Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)
10. Fanev Andriatsima (Madagascar & Clermont Foot)
11. Franck Kom (Cameroon & Esperance)
12. Jacinto Muondo Dala ‘Gelson’ (Angola & Primeiro de Agosto)
13. Hakim Ziyech (Morocco & Ajax)
14. Idrissa Gueye (Senegal & Everton)
15. Ismail Haddad (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)
16. Jean-Marc Makusu Mundele (DR Congo & AS Vita)
17. Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal & Napoli)
18. Mahmoud Benhalib (Morocco & Raja Club Athletic)
19. Mehdi Benatia (Morocco & Juventus)
20. Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)
21. Moussa Marega (Mali & Porto)
22. Naby Keita (Guinea & Liverpool)
23. Odion Ighalo (Nigeria & Changchun Yatai)
24. Percy Tau (South Africa & Union Saint-Gilloise)
25. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Arsenal)
26. Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Manchester City)
27. Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
28. Taha Khenissi (Tunisia & Esperance)
29. Thomas Partey (Ghana & Atletico Madrid)
30. Wahbi Khazri (Tunisia & Saint-Étienne)
31. Walid Soliman (Egypt & Ahly)
32. Wilfried Zaha (Cote d’Ivoire & Crystal Palace)
33. Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)
34. Youcef Belaili (Algeria & Esperance)

© The Predictor NG


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here