Rohr leaves out Mikel, Simy, calls Success, Simon for Libya

Photo: Getty Images
Photo: Getty Images

Nigeria captain Mikel John Obi and Italy-based Simeon ‘Simy’ Nwankwo will not be part of the two Africa Cup of Nations qualifying matches with Libya this month by head coach Gernot Rohr.

The 31-year-old Nigeria captain only returned from his hand injury in August at his Chinese club Tianjin TEDA. He featured in Sunday’s Chinese Super League game at Guizhou Hengfeng.

Rohr has given no explanation for the exclusion of the captain but it is understood that the Super Eagles minder wants to stick to the current squad that played in Seychelles as well as freshen up the pack with recalls and addition.

Crotone forward Nwankwo who was part of the World Cup was not listed in the squad by Rohr.


One of the recalls to Rohr’s squad for the double contest with Libya is UD Levante winger Moses Simon who has shaken off a thigh injury that ruled him out of the FIFA World Cup in Russia to settle down at his Spanish La Liga side.

Watford forward Isaac Success has been handed a call as he has gradually played himself back into reckoning at his English Premier League side and nearly scored against Arsenal at the Emirate Stadium.

Alex Iwobi, William Troost-Ekong and Ola Aina all got called back after missing the Seychelles game.

Rohr has continued to keep faith with Enyimba goalkeeper Ikechukwu Ezenwa as the only player from the domestic front in the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL).

Nigeria play hosts to the first meeting with Libya at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo October 13.

Three days later, the 18,000–capacity Stade Taïeb Mhiri in the city of Sfax, Tunisia will be venue for Libya versus Nigeria.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Elche FC, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Porto, Portugal); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nasr FC, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Italy); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux FC, France); Isaac Success (Watford FC, England)

© The Predictor NG


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here