INEC declares APC’s Oyetola Osun governor-elect, Adeleke rejects results


Gboyega Isiaka Oyetola has been declared winner of the Osun State governorship election and will succeed Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola on November 27, 2018.

The INEC chief returning officer for the election, Professor Joseph Adeola Fuwape, who is vice chancellor of the Federal University of Technology, Akure, declared the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) the winner after 1am on Friday.

He said Oyetola, whose 64th birthday will be on September 29, scored the highest number of votes and satisfied the requirements of the constitution.

Oyetola scored 255,505 votes to beat Senator Ademola Adeleke, candidate of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) with just 482 votes. The PDP candidate scored 255,023 votes.

The election held on September 22 went into a re-run in some seven polling units.

The PDP candidate led the APC candidate with 353 votes before the re-run.

The difference was wiped out in the rerun, with the Social Democratic Party (SDP) candidate, Senator Iyiola Omisore, who was the second runner-up in the first election, going into alliance with the APC.

The alliance was the game changer as Omisore gave the APC candidate, the votes needed in Ile-Ife to wipe out the PDP candidate’s lead.

The governor-elect was born in Iragbiji in Boripe LGA of Osun State on September 29, 1954.

He attended Ifeoluwa Grammar School in Osogbo for his secondary school education which he completed in 1972. He was a graduate of University of Lagos and had a B.Sc (Hons) Insurance, 1978 and MBA Finance, 1990.

He is also an Associate of the Chartered Insurance Institute, London and Nigeria and a Member of the Nigerian Institute of Management.

Oyetola started his insurance career with Leadway Assurance Company after his NYSC in Maiduguri in 1980 as an assistant manager and rose to the position of area manager, control office, Lagos.

He was at Crusader Insurance as underwriting manager, Corporate Alliance Insurance as controller technical before he left to set up Silvertrust Insurance Brokers in 1990. He was on the board of many companies.

He was the executive vice chairman of Paragon Group of Companies with interest in oil and gas, real estate and stock broking until his appointment as the Chief of Staff to the Governor of the State of Osun.


On the other hand, PDP candidate, Adeleke, through his campaign organisation has rejected the result of the Osun governorship election.

Spokesman of Adeleke’s campaign team, Olawale Rasheed, said they would seek legal redress.

Adeleke alleged that voters were deliberately refused access to polling points at gun point while those allowed to go to the voting centres were forced to vote for APC.

He said PDP party agents were arrested, beaten up and shut out of polling centres while the roads were blocked to stop voters and observers.

“Applying all standards, today’s (Thursday’s) supplementary poll is a non-event as all norms of the electoral process are violated,” he said.

But the APC in Osun said the people of the state have spoken through the ballot.

A statement by APC Director of Publicity, Research and Strategy in Osun, Kunle Oyatomi, said PDP got their votes in the first election through manipulation.

Oyatomi said that nobody expected that the PDP would come second during the election, adding that most people in the state believed that it would be a straight fight between the APC and SDP.

“We have always known and have made ourselves clear before the election that the PDP had made elaborate arrangement to rig the election through the manipulation of the card readers.

“And it was this process that made them get the votes allocated to them in the first ballot.

“We like Osun people to understand that the runoff votes went the way it did because the PDP was unable to manipulate the card readers this time round and fortunately the police thwarted their plot of buying and trying to use the PVCs of unsuspecting voters.

“That was why some of their leaders were arrested. So the PDP should look for other excuses.

“They attempted to win by fraud, they failed in the first round and eventually lost the rerun election,” Oyatomi said.

The election was declared inconclusive and a re-run ordered because the number of cancelled votes was higher than the margin between the two top candidates.

Adeleke led the race with 254,698 votes, 353 votes more than his closest rival, Oyetola of the APC.

The margin was, however, less than the 3,498 votes in the polling units where voting was cancelled.

Consequently, INEC Chief Returning Officer for the election declared the poll inconclusive and ordered a re-run.

“Unfortunately, as the returning officer, it is not possible to declare any party as the clear winner of this election at the first ballot,” Fuwape had said.


Registered Voters: 1,678,985
Accredited voters: 775,687
Valid Votes: 721,621
Rejected votes: 47,874
Total votes cast: 769,495
Adeoti of ADP: 49,743 votes
Adeleke of PDP: 255,023
Oyetola of APC: 255,505
Omisore of SDP: 128,053



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here