Amaju Pinnick re-elected as NFF president


Amaju Pinnick has been elected as the president of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) for a second term of four years.

Pinnick and his new NFF board will manage Nigeria football until 2022.

The 45-year-old won re-election into the NFF Executive Committee in Nigeria’s northwest city of Katsina on Thursday after defeating former federation boss Aminu Maigari, ex-secretary-general of the country’s FA Taiwo Ogunjobi and Bimo FC boss Chinedu Okoye in the presidential poll.

Pinnick won by a landslide as he got 34 votes to Maigari’s eight. Ogunjobi had two votes while Okoye returned with no vote from the 44-member congress of the NFF.

First-vice president Seyi Akinwunmi also won re-election into the NFF executive committee. He defeated Sunday Dele Ajayi by 41 to two votes.

In the race for the position of chairman of chairmen, businessman and Anambra FA chief Ifeanyi Ubah withdrew from the poll. His contender Ibrahim Gusau was re-elected.

After a runoff for the north-central seat in the NFF, Ahmed ‘Fresh’ Yusuf and Suleiman Yahaya Kwande emerged while in the northeast, Babagana Kalli won with 32 votes ahead of Farouk Yarma and Musa Nuhu who got six and five votes respectively.

In the runoff, Nuhu defeated Yarma by 34 to seven votes for the second seat in the northeast.

Akwa Ibom State FA chairman Emmanuel Ibah won the single south-south seat since Pinnick is from same zone. He defeated Oswald Atuake by 28 to 15 votes.

Felix Anyansi Agwu got re-elected into the southeast seat after Emmanuel Ochiagha, Jude Obikwelu and Emeka Inyama withdrew from the race.

Ganiyu Majekodunmi, the Ogun State FA boss got elected unopposed from the southwest just as Sharif Rabiu Inuwa also got re-elected into the NFF with no opposition from the northwest.


Amaju Pinnick – president
Seyi Akinwunmi – first-vice president
Shehu Dikko – second-vice president/LMC chairman
Ibrahim Gusau – Chairman of chairmen
Ahmed ‘Fresh’ Yusuf – Member
Suleiman Yahaya Kwande – Member
Sharif Rabiu Inuwa – Member
Ganiyu Majekodunmi – Member
Babagana Kalli – Member
Musa Nuhu – Member
Felix Anyansi Agwu – Member
Emmanuel Ibah – Member
Aisha Falode – Member/NWPL chairperson
Chidi Ofo Okenwa – Member/NNL chairman
Mohammed Alkali – Member/NNWL chairman
Mohammed Sanusi – Secretary-general

© The Predictor NG


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here