Aigbogun lists Achiv, Aniekeme, Ikouwem for Nigeria U20s


Nigeria Under-20 men’s head coach Paul Aigbogun has named a 28-man roster for the qualification of the 2019 Under-20 Africa Cup of Nations with Douglas Achiv, Aniekeme Asuquo and Ikouwem Udoh making the cut.

Ikouwem who recently won the Aiteo/NFF Young Player of the Year award has been handed a call by Aigbogun following his splendid performance at the 2018 CHAN in Morocco.

Achiv and Aniekeme have had impressive outings this season with Nasarawa United and Akwa United respectively with the latter providing two assists in the NPFL so far in his debut appearance. Achiv has scored once this term.

Peter Eneji and Nura Mohammed, members of Nigeria’s squad to the 2018 CHAN, also make the squad just as Akwa United’s Adesina Gata and Kano Pillars midfielder Alassan Ibrahim are listed.

Kano Pillars youngster Nazifi Yahaya who played in an NPFL Under-17 All-Star side at the Gauteng tournament in South Africa last year is also invited to the Flying Eagles.

MFM FC’s contingent include goalkeeper Ospino Egbe, Jesse Akila and Waheed Adebayo.

The 28 playes are expected to be at their Serob Legacy Hotel lodgings in Abuja on Monday.

The 2019 Under-20 AFCON will be staged in Niger Republic.


Ikouwem Udoh (Enyimba FC); Peter Eneji (Plateau United); Nura Mohammed (El-Kanemi Warriors); Wasiu Abdulazeez (Enyimba FC); Aniekieme Asuquo (Akwa United); Valentine Ozounwafor (Enyimba FC); Aminu Nuhu (Akwa United); Nazifi Yahaya (Kano Pillars); Isa Ndala (Nasarawa United); Adesina Gata (Akwa United); Alassan Ibrahim (Kano Pillars); Douglas Achiv (Nasarawa United); Jamilu Muhammed (Kano Pillars); Mubarak Abdulsalam (Wikki Tourists); Sadiq Abdullahi (Nasarawa United); Jesse Akila Jadima (MFM FC); Charles Agbo (El-Kanemi Warriors); Frank Kappe (Katsina United); Idris Said (Niger Tornadoes); Ospino Egbe (MFM FC); Malachy Chibuzor (Rivers United); Sunday Anthony (El-Kanemi Warriors); Abiodun Joseph (Sunshine Stars); Nurudeen Mudashiru (ABS FC); Waheed Adebayo (MFM FC); Mubarak Ejiogu (Niger Tornadoes); Detan Ogundare (Kogi United); Amos Obasogie (Insurance FC)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here