Peru complete 32 World Cup qualifiers

Photo: Reuters
Photo: Reuters

The 32 nations that have booked their place for the 2018 World Cup in Russia, after Peru beat New Zealand on Thursday to guarantee the final spot.

The Peruvians completed the list of 32 qualifiers after they progressed on a 2-0 aggregate following a goalless draw in Wellington with New Zealand last week.

Peru defeated New Zealand 2-0 in Lima through goals by Jefferson Farfan and Christian Ramos on Thursday.

The South Americans will play at the FIFA World Cup for the first time in 36 years.

All 32 teams have now been drawn into four points of eight teams each ahead of the draw ceremony to hold at the State Kremlin Palace on 1 December this year.

The World Cup finals will take place in Russia between 14 June and 15 July 2018.


Europe: Belgium, England, Germany, Iceland, Poland, Russia (as hosts), Serbia, Spain, France, Portugal, Switzerland, Croatia, Sweden, Denmark

Africa: Egypt, Nigeria, Senegal, Morocco, Tunisia

Asia: Iran, Japan, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Australia

North, Central America and Caribbean: Costa Rica, Mexico, Panama

South America: Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina, Colombia, Peru

© AFP & additional report by The Predictor


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here