England, Spain set up all-European U-17 W/Cup final

Source: FIFA
Source: FIFA

Spain and England will play in the first-ever all-European FIFA Under-17 World Cup in Kolkata, India on Saturday, only the second time UEFA has provided both teams in the decider of any global youth tournament for men or women.

England defeated Brazil 3-1 with a Rhian Brewster hat-trick in Kolkata on Wednesday before Spain repeated that scoreline versus Mali in Mumbai.

It means a rematch of May’s UEFA European Under-17 Championship final in Slovakia, when Spain equalised in the sixth minute of added time before winning 4-1 on penalties.

Final: Key facts

• Whatever happens Europe will have its fourth Under-17 world champions after Switzerland (2009), France (2001) and the Soviet Union (1987).

• For Spain it is their fourth final at this level having missed out at the last hurdle in 2007, 2003 and 1991.

• If Spain claim the title they will be the first team to win the Under-17 EURO and World Cup in the same year.

• England will be seeking a double having won the FIFA Under-20 World Cup in South Korea earlier this year.

• The only other nation to win both competitions in the same year are Brazil in 2003, who beat Spain 1-0 in each of the finals.

• England are the first team since Brazil and Spain in 2003 to reach both finals in the same year.

• The only other FIFA youth tournament for men or women to produce an all-European final was the 1987 Under-20 World Cup, when Yugoslavia defeated West Germany on penalties in Chile.

Road to the final

Group stage: Chile 4-0, Mexixo 3-2, Iraq 4-0 (Group F winners)
Round of 16: Japan 0-0, 5-3 pens
Quarter-finals: United States 4-1
Semi-finals: Brazil 3-1
Top scorer: Rhian Brewster (Liverpool) 7

Group stage: Brazil 1-2, Niger 4-0, North Korea 2-0 (Group D runners-up)
Round of 16: France 2-1
Quarter-finals: Iran 3-1
Semi-finals: Mali 3-1
Top scorer: Abel Ruiz (Barcelona) 6

Other European contenders
Germany: lost 2-1 to Brazil in quarter-finals
France: lost 2-1 to Spain in round of 16
Turkey: finished fourth in Group B

Past FIFA U-17 World Cup finals (hosts)
2015: Nigeria 2-0 Mali (Chile)
2013: Nigeria 3-0 Mexico (UAE)
2011: Mexico 2-0 Uruguay (Mexico)
2009: Switzerland 1-0 Nigeria (Nigeria)
2007: Nigeria 0-0, 3-0 pens Spain (South Korea)
2005: Mexico 3-0 Brazil (Peru)
2003: Brazil 1-0 Spain (Finland)
2001: France 3-0 Nigeria (Trinidad and Tobago)
1999: Brazil 0-0, 8-7 pens Australia (New Zealand)
1997: Brazil 2-1 Ghana (Egypt)
1995: Ghana 3-2 Brazil (Ecuador)
1993: Nigeria 2-1 Ghana (Japan)
1991: Ghana 1-0 Spain (Italy)
1989: Saudi Arabia 2-2, 5-4 pens Scotland (Scotland)
1987: Soviet Union 1-1, 4-2 pens Nigeria (Canada)
1985: Nigeria 2-0 West Germany (China)

FIFA U-20 World Cup: European finalists
2017: England 1-0 Venezuela (South Korea)
2015: Serbia 2-1 aet Brazil (New Zealand)
2013: France 0-0, 4-1 pens Uruguay (Turkey)
2007: Argentina 2-1 Czech Republic (Canada)
2003: Brazil 1-0 Spain (UAE)
1999: Spain 4-0 Japan (Nigeria)
1991: Portugal 0-0, 4-2 pens Brazil (Portugal)
1989: Portugal 3-0 Nigeria (Saudi Arabia)
1987: Yugoslavia 1-1, 5-4 pens West Germany (Chile)
1985: Brazil 1-0aet Spain (Soviet Union)
1981: West Germany 4-0 Qatar (Australia)
1979: Argentina 3-1 Soviet Union (Japan)
1977: Soviet Union 2-2, 9-8 pens Mexico (Tunisia)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here